Franz Kafka Prize to Murakami

Famous Japanese writer Haruki Murakami has been awarded Franz Kafka Price. This author is known especially for his novels Norwegian Wood, Kafka on the Shore or After Dark. His works are translated into 38 languages. Murakami, who was also a candidate for Nobel Prize, said that he felt honoured by this prize. Kafka has been his favourite writer since his childhood.

Franz Kafka Prize is given to writers whose exceptional literary creation addresses readers regardless their nationality, origin or culture. Prizewinners get besides 10 000 dollars also a statuette similar to the Franz Kafka Monument in Vezenska street. The prize was given yesterday in the Town hall in Prague Old Town.

Although Murakami does not like publicity, Prague people and visitors have a special change today to see this famous author in Prague Luxor Palace on Wenceslas Square where he is going to give autographs from 16:00.

Meteor Plaza, Prague

4-star hotel in Prague centre. Book your room online!

Hostel Elf, Prague

Centrally located hostel - only 10 minutes from the Main Train Station.


Time Navigation