Political Parties in the Parliament of the Czech Republic

czech heraldry The political scene in the Czech Republic is dominated by four large parties.

Parties in Chamber of deputies

Civic Democratic Party (ODS – Občanská demokratická strana) – major right-wing party Leader: Miroslav Topolanek

Czech Social Democratic Party (CSSD – Česká strana sociálně demokratická) – major left-wing party Leader: Jiri Paroubek

Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia (KSCM – Komunistická strana Čech a Moravy) – an heir of the Communist Party of Czechoslovakia Leader: Vojtech Filip.

Christian and Democratic Union – Czechoslovak People’s Party (KDU-CSL – Křesťanská a demokratická unie – Československá strana lidová) – major conservative party Leader: Ing. Roman Linek

Green Party (SZ – Strana Zelených) – centrist green party Leader: Martin Bursik

TO: 1st January 2008

Related Articles